BKF Chair
Hardoy Butterfly Chair

History

The Hardoy Butterfly Chair also called Hardoy Chair or BKF Chair is a design classic of the 40s. It is especially popular among design enthusiasts with high standards.

In 1938 the BKF Chair was designed by the Austral Group in Buenos Aires. The designers Antonio Bonet, Juan Kurchan and Jorge Ferrari Hardoy chose their initials as a name for the Butterfly Chair. In 1940, when the chair received the Argentinian design award, Knoll started the production and worldwide distribution. In the first 10 years the BKF Hardoy Butterfly Chair was sold over 5 million times.

Since 1941 the BKF Butterfly Chair can be found in the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York. It is one of the most successful exhibits and carries the name “design classic“ for good reason.

Also today the Butterfly Chair is produced by many manufacturers. But to many producers the original thought of achieving high quality through sustainable material usage has not been proven to be cost-effective. More and more drastically altered versions with cheap material enter the market.

Pure Wild Biobüffel-Leder | Hardoy Butterfly Chair

The Pure Wild HARDOY BUTTERFLY CHAIR made of real, wild organic buffalo leather.

Our Hardoy

Why does a piece of furniture become a design classic? Because it unites esthetics and function. Because its form is simple, but stands out at the same time. And because it does not follow any trend, but convinces with a unique design and functionality. Exactly these characteristics apply to the legendary Butterfly Chair whose organic form reminds of delicate butterflies flapping their wings. 

In 1938 the chair was designed by the three Argentinian architects Antonio Bonet, Juan Kurchan und Jorge Ferrari Hardoy which is why the iconic classic has also become known as the BKF HARDOY CHAIR, according to their initials. Already in 1941 it found its way into the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Even today it is displayed there as one of primarily only three protagonists. While the second original has its place in Frank Lloyd Wright's famous Fallingwater House, the third exemplar went missing to this day.

In 1947 Florence and Hans Knoll acquired the rights for mass-producing this elegant chair. In no time, the Hardoy Chair became a style icon. In the 50s 3000 exemplars were sold per week in the Los Angeles area for example, according to estimates. But the success caused a number of copyists. This way replicas of poor quality entered the market. More and more. Hans Knoll tried to secure the exclusive rights at court – and he lost. It was because the Butterfly Chair had a predecessor: the foldable Tripolina Chair. In 1881 the Englishman Joseph B. Fendby designed the chair and had it patented.

As an Italian camping chair and mobile military furniture for the British, the Tripolina itself had become a classic long ago. Bonet, Kurchan and Hardoy had failed to trademark their further development of Tripolina. After only three years Knoll ceased production.

In the years that followed, the Butterfly Chair faced hard times. Cheap material and altered dimensions – the elegant classic was commoditized.

As admirers of perfected furniture, we regretted this process and in 2007 we decided to build the Butterfly Chair in a way that matches the original from 1938. We chose our name MANUFAKTURPLUS for good reasons. Because just like its prototype our Butterfly Chair is solidly hand-crafted with thick and naturally tanned leather. Since we strive for perfection, we put unfilled piping between the seams. This increases the seating comfort. The frames consist of steel rods which are formed to big loops and are welded. This way our BUTTERFLY Chair turns into furniture that pleases and outlives generations just like its prototype and as intended by its inventors.

Even today the icon is produced in almost all parts of the world and its quality differs. So what makes the BUTTERFLY CHAIR by MANUFAKTURPLUS that unique? Finest handicraft and seating comfort are the answer. Just try it.

Production

Manufakturplus stands for sustainable and excellent quality. In order to meet our expectations we use traditional manual production methods. Already the frame is firmly welded. It consists of 12 mm round bar, guarantees high stability and protects your floor with small, hardly visible plastic glides.

In our case manual production means the leather is sewed together without any reduction of the material. The material's full substance remains and guarantees the desired durability. To achieve this special durability delicate spots of the leather are sewed by hand.

BKF Chair
Hardoy Butterfly Chair

Geschichte

Der Butterfly Chair (deutsch: Schmetterlingstuhl) ist ein Designklassiker aus den 40er. Außerordentlich beliebt ist er vor allem bei Designliebhabern mit Anspruch.

1938 wurde der BKF Stuhl wurde von der Austral-Designergruppe in Buenos Aires entwickelt. Die Hauptverantwortlichen, Antonio Bonet, Juan Kurchan und Jorge Ferrari Hardoy, sind mit ihren Initialien Namensgeber des Schmetterlingstuhls. Als der Stuhl 1940 den Argentinischen Designpreis bekam, begann Knoll mit der Produktion und dem weltweiten Vertrieb. Alleine in den ersten 10 Jahren wurde der BKF Hardoy Butterfly Chair über 5 Millionen mal verkauft.

Seit 1941 findet man den BKF Butterfly Chair im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art (MOMA). Er zählt hier zu den erfolgreichsten Ausstellungsstücken und trägt daher zurecht den Namen Designklassiker.

Auch heute noch wird der Schmetterlingstuhl von vielen Herstellern produziert. Dabei hat sich der ursprüngliche Gedanke, bei nachhaltigem Materialeinsatz eine hohe Qualität zu erzielen, für viele produzenten als nicht wirtschaftlich erwiesen. Immer häufiger finden sich stark veränderte Versionen mit minderwertigem Material auf dem Markt.

Skizze Hardoy Butterfly Chair

Unser Hardoy

Warum wird ein Möbel zum Design-Klassiker? Weil es Ästhetik und Funktion vereint. Weil seine Form simpel und gleichzeitig einprägsam ist. Und weil es keiner Mode folgt, dafür aber durch Einzigartigkeit in seinem Aussehen und seiner Funktion überzeugt. Genau diese Eigenschaften treffen auf den legendären BUTTERFLY-CHAIR zu, dessen organische Form tatsächlich an den Flügelschlag zarter Schmetterlinge erinnert.

Entworfen hat ihn 1938 das argentinische Architektentrio Antonio Bonet, Juan Kurchan und Jorge Ferrari Hardoy, weshalb der kultige Klassiker entsprechend ihrer Initialen auch als BKF HARDOY CHAIR bekannt wurde. Schon 1941 fand er Einzug ins New Yorker Museum of Modern Art. Auch heute noch ist er dort als einer von ursprünglich nur drei Protagonisten ausgestellt. Während sich das zweite Original in Frank Lloyd Wrights berühmten Fallingwater-Haus befindet, ist das dritte Exemplar bis heute verschwunden.

1947 erwarben Florence und Hans Knoll die Rechte, den formschönen Sessel in Serie produzieren zu dürfen. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit avancierte ihr HARDOY CHAIR zur Stil-Ikone seiner Zeit. Schätzungen zufolge wurden allein im Raum Los Angeles in den fünfziger Jahren etwa 3000 Exemplare pro Woche verkauft. Doch Erfolg schafft Nachahmer. So kamen Repliken in minderwertiger Qualität auf den Markt. Mehr und mehr. Hans Knoll versuchte, sich die alleinigen Rechte gerichtlich zu sichern – und verlor. Letztlich deshalb, weil Butterfly einen Vorgänger hatte: den klappbaren Tripolina-Stuhl. Der Engländer Joseph B. Fendby hatte ihn 1881 entwickelt und patentieren lassen.

Als italienischer Campingstuhl und mobiles Militärmöbel der Briten war Tripolina selbst längst zum Klassiker avanciert. Bonet, Kuchan und Hardoy hatten versäumt, die Weiterentwicklung von Tripolina ihrerseits rechtlich zu schützen. Nach nur drei Jahren stellte Knoll deshalb die Produktion ein.

In den Folgejahren wurde dem Butterfly-Chair übel mitgespielt. Minderwertige Materialien, veränderte Maße – der formschöne Klassiker war zum gestalterischen Allgemeingut geworden.
Als Liebhaber vollendeter Möbel haben wir diesen Prozess bedauert. Und 2007 beschlossen, den Butterfly-Chair so zu bauen, dass er dem Original von 1938 ebenbürtig ist. Unseren Namen MANUFAKTURPLUS haben wir aus gutem Grund gewählt. Denn unser Butterfly Chair wird genau wie sein Vorbild in solider Handarbeit mit dicken, naturgegerbten Lederhäuten gefertigt. Und weil wir Perfektionisten sind, setzen wir zwischen die Nähte ungefüllte Keder ein. Das erhöht den Sitzkomfort. Die Gestelle formen wir aus vollwertigen Stahlstäben zu großzügigen Schlaufen und verschweißen sie fest. So wird unser BUTTERFLY-Chair zu einem Möbelstück, das ebenso wie sein Vorbild Generationen erfreut und überdauert. Ganz im Sinne der Erfinder.

Auch heute noch wird die Ikone in beinahe allen Erdteilen der Welt in unterschiedlichsten Qualitäten produziert. Was also macht den BUTTERFLY von MANUFAKTURPLUS so einzigartig? Es ist neben der feinen Handarbeit der Sitzkomfort. Probieren Sie es einfach aus.